For reference I'm using the non-Insider general release version. About a year ago they added nag prompts to use it even when enabled, which was a sign people didn't actually use it, but now it's degraded in updates to the point it, for me at least, across multiple systems, essentially doesn't work.
I haven't dug into the code but I am wondering if they've tried to vibe code it or something.